Burglary is a crime that can be used to explain a broad range of actions. In Michigan, strictly put, it is the act of breaking and entering into another person's home. It is taken very seriously, and will usually be classed as a felony.
If you are at risk for being accused of a felony in Michigan, it is important to understand exactly where the law stands in different situations, and how you should move forward in your defense.
Breaking and entering in Michigan
If you are found to have illegally broken into and entered a property, the exact circumstances will determine the outcome. One possible crime you could be charged with is home invasion. This is defined in three differing severities.
Third degree home invasion is the act of unlawfully entering a property without breaking, intending only to commit a misdemeanor. Second degree home invasion is entering a property with the intention to commit an assault or a felony. First degree home invasion is the most serious, and a crime is judged as such when the person committing the crime is armed with a gun, knife or other dangerous weapon.
If the property you entered was not a private home, it is possible that you would then be charged with entering without breaking.
The consequences of burglary in Michigan
Third degree home invasion is punishable with a maximum fine of $2000, and a maximum prison sentence of five years. Second degree home invasion can lead to a maximum of 15 years in prison, and possibly a $3000 fine. The most severe consequence that you could expect to face for an armed home invasion is 20 years imprisonment and a $5000 fine.
Burglary changes are very serious, however there are many possible defenses that people can use when they find themselves in an unfair situation. It is important that you look into these and are well prepared for trial.