Being charged with a felony is never pleasant, as it has the ability to change the entire trajectory of your life. When you are in possession of a scheduled drug in Michigan and it is determined that you have the intention to distribute or sell said substance, it is an automatic felony. Learn how felony drug crimes affect individuals in the State of Michigan to obtain the legal counsel you require in your time of need.
Amounts required for an automatic felony
Not all felony drug crimes are treated equally. Oftentimes, drug crimes are handled according to the type of schedule each substance in question has currently according to government regulations.
A controlled substance in Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 that is considered a narcotic cannot be more than 1,000 grams or an individual faces imprisonment for life. Substances in the amount of 450 grams or more, but less than 1,000 grams is punishable by up to 30 years imprisonment and $500,000 USD.
Substances that are found on a person but less than 50 grams carry a sentence of up to 20 years imprisonment or up to $25,000 in fines.
Differently scheduled substances carry different weights when it comes to felony drug crimes. Any other controlled substance classified as 1, 2, or 3, aside from marijuana/cannabis, can also carry a sentence of up to seven years imprisonment, a fine of $10,000, or both, depending on the individual case at hand.
If you or someone you know has experienced a possession charge in the State of Michigan, working alongside legal counsel is highly recommended. The right legal counsel can provide you with a legal path that is best for you based on your past, your criminal record, as well as the type of substance you were carrying when charged.