Thorough. Aggressive. Honest.

Stalking charges in Michigan come with harsh penalties

| Aug 14, 2020 | Uncategorized |

Stalking is a criminal act that can lead to serious problems. It’s imperative that anyone who is trying to remain in contact with a loved one or friend do so in a lawful manner.

There are several things that can be construed as stalking, so understanding the ins and outs of the Michigan laws pertaining to this is essential. If you’re currently facing charges for stalking, you need to find out the potential penalties you’re facing because there are different types of stalking.

Misdemeanor stalking

A person charged with misdemeanor stalking is facing up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. This involves cases in which nobody was injured. The victim must have been over 18 years old for a misdemeanor to be charged.

One exception is if the victim was under 18 and fewer than five years in age separate the victim and the alleged stalker; in this case, a misdemeanor is usually suitable.

Felony stalking

A person who faces a basic aggravated stalking charge is looking at the possibility of up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

Felony stalking is also used when the case involves a person who is under 18 years old being stalked by someone more than five years older. You face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.

If you’re convicted of stalking, you will have to abide by specific terms upon your release from prison or jail. If you’re facing a stalking charge, discuss the requirements with your attorney. Failing to comply can mean that you have to remain on supervised probation for a term of no less than five years.

Because the terms vary for these charges, make sure that you find out what type of charge you’re facing. This might have an impact on the way you set up your defense strategy, so think about it carefully before you move forward with your plan.